Welcome to the Dungeon

Usually I write posts on my laptop from the comfy couch or the dining table, but since my laptop finally bit it, today I am borrowing my honey’s computer and writing to you from the dungeon. Dun, dun, duuuuuuuuun. Geon.

photoWelcome to the dungeon. I figure if I begin the tour of our house here, you can only be more and more impressed as I progress. Yes I said house tour. (It’s about time!) (Pictures, yay!)

This is a tiny windowless room at the back of the basement. The neat and tidy desk with a computer  on it is my husband’s. The desk that is upchucking all over the place is mine. We carried my new little white and birch Ikea desk in here the day we moved in, and subsequently started piling random stuff on it. The end.

I never come in here.

Actually I come in here to give my husband a kiss when I’m going out, or to get a new battery for my toothbrush, wrapping paper if I have a gift to give, and, even more likely, I come in here to dump more stuff on my desk.

Do you like the star light? There are also little glow in the dark stars all over the ceiling. I wanted those my whole childhood and now I’ve got them.

photo (2)I said this room was windowless, but it actually has a window! A glass block window. Leading not to the sunny outdoors, but out to the t.v. room.

Also, varied ceiling heights.

So quirky.

It serves a great purpose though. It is so nice to have an extra room for all this stuff. In our old house the computer and bookcase were crammed into the kitchen which annoyed me to no end. And, unlike most basements it isn’t at all dank, and it doesn’t smell. It’s not perfect but it’s fresh and clean and useful.

photo (3)

Random pipe in the floor! And now you’ve seen the dungeon.

3 thoughts on “Welcome to the Dungeon

  1. How fun to get a tour of your house! I’m excited! Nice dungeon 🙂
    But seriously, I love that you have glow in the dark stars down there. I had them when I was a kid. I remember thinking I would recreate the Milky Way galaxy on my ceiling, but it was a lot harder than I expected. So then it just became a random galaxy of my very own 🙂
    Looking forward to the next part of the tour.

  2. That’s probably the nicest dungeon I’ve ever seen. (Not that I’ve actually ever seen a real life dungeon.) Can’t wait to see the rest of the house!

What say you?

