The Healthy Train

I’ve clambered aboard.

So yesterday I was out for the first day of our after-church Run Club and as we rounded the corner on our way back to the church parking lot my friend mentioned that she was heading up to Nature’s Fare next. She had to pick up a few ingredients for the 3-day detox she was starting the next morning.

Do tell, I said.

And she did. She was doing it in solidarity with some friends from work.  I said I’d hop on that train. 3 days is completely do-able. And after yesterday morning’s post, my health was definitely on my mind. So I ran into the church, looked up Dr. Oz’s 3 Day Detox on the internets and printed off the one-page instruction sheet and shopping list. The two of us carpooled to the store and purchased everything we needed. Well, I actually already had a lot of it on hand.

fruits

The detox is basically 4 smoothies per day for three days, as well as green tea with lemon and a nice relaxing soak in a detox bath (epsom salts and lavender essential oil) at the end of each day. You also take a multi, pro-biotic and Omega 3.

I am currently 3 smoothies into the first day. Here is my experience so far:

  • It’s easy. The single sheet lays it all out, and the shopping list is already made up. No thinking necessary.
  • Hunger is not an issue. Those smoothies pack in a lot of food!

    I’m lucky that I have a fully outfitted kitchen at work. Actually, the blender at work is much better than mine at home. If you can’t zip up a smoothie at work, I suppose you could mix it up in the morning, pack it to work in a container and stir it up.

    I am missing coffee. I drink green tea on occasion because I know it’s good for me, but it’s never been my favorite. I would love a latte, but I wouldn’t kill for a latte. I feel pretty good.

3 thoughts on “The Healthy Train

  1. Good on you! I don’t think I could do it because I’m a bit of a fusspot when it comes to drinks that mix fruits & vegetables together. I also hate banana which I am sure would be in at least some of the smoothies. Still, I think it’s a fantastic idea and I’m sure you will feel amazing at the end of it. Good luck 🙂

  2. Good plan! Doing it with a friend is a great idea! I did a 3 day detox a few weeks ago! It was from the Hungry for Change website. I found that 3 days is doable..any longer and it would be tough! I felt great afterward and it helped me break the sugar habit and get loads of veggies into my system. I’ll probably do it once per season.
    Hope it goes well for you!

What say you?

