January Resolution Update

At New Years time I decided I would try having a new resolution every month. In January, I wanted to work on my self-expression, and my measurable goal was to blog every day. I had other non-measurable goals too, such as to be more honest. I’ve been trying to be more honest, more transparent, and I think I am, but not having a way to measure that certainly makes progress seem really vague. I guess that’s why  the golden rule of goal-setting is for them to be measurable. At the beginning of January I was reading Gretchen Rubin’s The Happiness Project. Gretchen did a similar 12-month plan, and her resolutions were all centered around increasing happiness, and she designed an elaborate resolutions chart on which she could check her progress every day. So far, all I’ve done is put a tidy little check mark on my kitchen calendar on the days that I’ve blogged. (Gretchen also has a bunch of cliched rules that guide her life. One of my cliched rules is KISS: Keep It Simple Stupid.)

red-check-markYesterday, when I wrote a post about being reminded of how much God loves me, combined with the day before that when I was open about feelings of sadness and frustration, I felt like I really made progress with self-expression. It’s been a long time since I communicated how I really feel, for good or for bad. So that’s good!

Another thing I wanted to do this month was to express myself creatively. But I wasn’t sure what I wanted to do, and I wasn’t sure how to go about measuring that. I’m still kind of stuck. My friend Elizabeth is hosting a night of creative worship. I plan on attending, although I’m still not sure what I will do once I get there. Off the top of my head, I just remembered that I am having people over next Friday night. We moved into our new home in November and I still haven’t done anything with the living room other than plop the couch into the middle of it. Right now I am making the mini-goal of decorating the living room before my get together. I have exactly one week.

I’m happy with where I stand with my January goals. For February I had initially thought I would focus on my physical well being, but I think I will do relationships instead. It’s Valentines month after all. And I want to have a weekend getaway with my husband. And one of my initial thoughts about 2013 resolutions was to try and be a better mother. And I always think I could be a better friend. I love my friends but I’m not the best at expressing that. So, yes. February will be relationship month.

Did you make any resolutions? How are they going?

What say you?

