Read in 2012

In 2010 and 2011 I read 50 books each year. (Prior to that I wasn’t really keeping track.)

In 2012 I slowed down a bit. I only read 40.

The 40 Books I Read in 2012:

1. A Wrinkle in Time by Madeleine L’Engle
2. Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland by Lewis Carroll
3. Republic by Plato
4. The Voyage of the Dawn Treader by C.S. Lewis
5. The Hobbit by JRR Tolkien
6. The Princess and the Goblin by George MacDonald
7. Phaedo by Plato
8. Phaedrus by Plato
9. De Interpretatione by Aristotle
10. Metaphysics by Aristotle
11. Nichomachean Ethics by Aristotle
12. Collected Tales by the Grimm Brothers
13. The Adventures of Tom Sawyer by Mark Twain
14. Treasure Island by Robert Louis Stevenson
15. Little Women by Louisa May Alcott
16. Timaeus by Plato
17. Existential Monday and the Sunday of History by Benjamin Fondane
18. The Sound and the Fury (Man Before History) by Benjamin Fondane
19. Pinocchio by Carlo Collodi
20. The Secret Garden by Frances Hodgson Burnett

Those first 20 books were all for school. My very last semester! Children’s Lit and a couple of Philosophy courses are represented. There was actually a bunch more reading than that but my Ethics class and Philosophy of Science were all articles. I didn’t record articles. Just books. Which perhaps is part of the reason why I didn’t make my usual 50 mark. Another reason could be that I graduated and so had to read less. Even though reading is never really a ‘have to’ for me. You know, unless I have to

As soon as school was finished I jumped into a bunch of lighter, funner titles. Yes, funner.

21. Quiet by Susan Cain
22. American Dervish by Ayad Akhtar
23. Beatrice and Virgil by Yann Martel
24. The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins
25. Night Road by Kristin Hannah
26. Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins
27. Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins
28. Cash, the Autobiography by Johnny Cash
29. Where Do I Go? by Neta Jackson
30. Hold on to your Kids by Gabor Mate
31. Who Do I Talk To? by Neta Jackson
32. Get off Your Knees and Pray by Sheila Walsh
33. The Virgin Cure by Ami McKay
34. The Reluctant Prophet by Nancy Rue
35. Unexpected Dismounts by Nancy Rue
36. Life of Pi by Yann Martel
37. The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald
38. The Tipping Point by Malcom Gladwell
39. Deep and Wide by Andy Stanley
40. The Passage by Justin Cronin.

Now that my brain has had a break I’ve decided to be a little more strategic in my reading for 2013. I will read what piques my interest of course, but I will also try and stimulate the intellectual side a bit more again. Wouldn’t want to turn mushy. 

What say you?

