My Happiness Project

I took my kids to the mall yesterday so we could spend our Christmas gift cards while the boxing week sales are still on. The kids had so much fun. I tried on exactly three pieces of clothing before I decided I’d better stop – I quietly slipped on ten unfriendly pounds since I started my desk job and am in the process of reversing that trend with my new elliptical trainer. Instead I bought a new journal and a new book, neither of which were on sale. Oh well!

I bought The Happiness Project by Gretchen Rubin.

Happiness-Project

I had seen this book around before – it was published in 2009 – but it didn’t really pique my interest until I came across Gretchen’s Happiness Project Blog sometime in the fall. Her blog is really inspiring and thoughtful, and I thought I would keep my eyes open for the book. And there it was, on the last shelf that I passed on the way to the register with my new journal. I scooped it up, paid for it, and that was that.

Last night I read the introduction and I was delighted to discover that not only does the book encourage and instruct the reader to start her own project as she reads along with Gretchen’s, but that THP is designed into twelve month-long resolution segments – which is exactly what I had been considering for my 2013 resolutions. Well, what a coincidence.

Happiness as a year long project? I wasn’t sure about that. I’m always looking for tricks to keep the happiness levels up since I seem to be so predisposed to melancholy. But a whole year? If I think about it though, any resolution I make is geared, ultimately, to increasing happiness. Usually goal-setting has to do with self-improvement, making life better, and reaching our goals makes us happy. Even thinking of reaching our goals makes us happier. So this morning I spent some time brainstorming my own happiness and the various resolutions I had been considering making. I’m designing a plan. I will be making charts. (I love making charts.) And I invite you to follow along with me through the next year.

4 thoughts on “My Happiness Project

What say you?

