Things. They are a-changing.

I’m home from my holidays. They were amazing.

We got in last night just before 1am. We slept in. My husband went off to a golf tournament this morning and the kids and I have been home bodies, doing laundry, cleaning, sitting around reading magazines, doing homework and grocery shopping. It’s kind of nice. Days like this have been few.

Ever since I had kids, oh a DECADE or so ago, life has been an ever-changing whirlwind. I went back to university when my youngest was just a year old. I worked evenings and weekends to make our budgetary-ends meet. I juggled those two schedules around my kids so I could essentially do all the things a full-time mom does too (although admittedly, probably not as effectively as full time moms do).

This month, all of that is changing. I will have my final final exam on Tuesday night. Next week will be one weird week of not-much-to-do, a stay-cation of sorts. We will adjust to my husband’s new work schedule – 10 hour shifts plus an hour-long commute, but with three day weekends. The week after that I begin my new job – and I also will have three day weekends. And the week after that my kids will be out of school for the summer. And the summer-time day-camp juggle begins.

We will have a lot of adjusting to do. I keep wondering things like – will my kids have a good summer even though they won’t be able to lounge around home and do nothing? I’ve been able to spend summers with them up until now, going out to work when my husband was home. And how on earth am I going to get in regular workouts? If anything, I’d like to step-up the frequency and intensity. I’m afraid of letting exercise slide. I’m used to going to the gym in the mornings after I take my kids to school, and honestly I struggle to get there even with the flexibility I have had. I often feel so drained in the evenings – somewhere along the way I have become a morning person – I worry I won’t be able to do it late in the day. Then I think, I’ll get up early and go, but oh yeah, my hubby will be leaving for work in the wee hours. When am I going to cook? Will I be too lazy to cook healthy, delicious home made fare when I get home each afternoon? Who is going to clean – and when? All of us together on the weekends or do I hire someone to come in? When am I going to write? Will that fall by the wayside entirely? Extra-curricular activities? Volunteering? I worry a bit about the overall schedule-adjustment.

And then I remember, three day weekends.

So. Awesome.

It has been a long time since I’ve even had even one day weekends.

So I know it will be good. I just like to have a solid plan in mind, you know. I wonder what my new life will look like. I just want to do a good job. Of everything.

 

4 thoughts on “Things. They are a-changing.

  1. Hey, good luck with the adjustments. I know it will be a big change, but I’m sure you’ll be fine. We’ve been through a few big changes and it’s amazing how you just seem to manage. Exercise can take on a new form, maybe some exercise DVDs instead of the gym, or going for a run/walk while your girls ride their bikes, etc.
    Like Angella says, I think this new chapter in your life will be really exciting and I am looking forwarding to hearing more about it … when you have time to blog, of course! 😉

  2. So glad you had a good holiday… to the Oregon Coast?! it’s the BEST! I’m excited for your new job, and I’m sure with time, you and your family will find a natural rhythm and you’ll make tweaks and adjustments as needed. Congrats to your hubby on his new job! 🙂

  3. Big life adjustments always seem to be scariest before they happen. And then afterwards you almost can’t remember life being any other way. At least that’s the way it’s always been for me. Praying that all goes well! 🙂

What say you?

