Just Do It

Sometimes I fall away from good habits.

Usually missing a day or two is no big deal, but sometimes a whole week will pass, and a week can easily become two, which quickly becomes a month. And the more time I spend away from any habit, the more the pressure begins to build to get back into it, and yet, the harder it seems to do so. The excuses build. I wonder if it’s over.

At which point I realize I need to just do it. Like Nike says.

So here I am, just blogging.

Not sure what I’m going to say. No fancy pictures. Random bits, perhaps.

1. I got the job I wanted! I am the church secretary now. Or will be as of July 1st. This past Saturday I woke up and was lying in bed thinking about getting up and going to do my janitorial work, just as I do every Saturday morning, when I suddenly realized that these routine Saturday morning thoughts are coming to a close very soon. I will have weekends again! I’m very excited about the job itself as well. I think I will love it, and my mind is buzzing with ideas.

2. I have re-started week three of C25K THREE TIMES. I’m not pleased with myself about that, but I keep reminding myself that AT LEAST I HAVEN’T QUIT. Right? Right?

3. I have returned to the gym. I’ve gone three times in the last week, after not going at all for the last, oh, six to eight weeks. I was so happy it was spring and with the running and other activities, I thought, hey, I’ll just get my exercise outside. Which didn’t really happen. And truthfully, I find the gym a little intimidating – not the gym itself, but the people inside it, and as I’ve gotten to know a few of the people there a little bit, and other people I know from life have been randomly showing up there, I just have been dreading going. I like to exercise, I just don’t like to exercise when people can see me, especially people I know. Is that weird? I wish I could exercise invisible. But last week I’d had enough and I pulled out my little ‘just do it’ mantra. And I went. And I went again and again. And I feel better.

4. I’ve been reading a lot of great books. Those deserve their own post.

5. We’re going on our First Family Vacation! We’ve never gone away somewhere nice as a foursome (other than camping or visiting my mom’s cabin). We’re leaving next Sunday afternoon for a week on the Oregon coast where we have rented a house. I can’t wait.

6. Ballet recital weekend is coming up too. The girls have their regular class Friday, their dress rehearsal Saturday morning, their first performance Saturday night, and their second performance Sunday afternoon. We’re leaving for our vacation immediately following the Sunday performance. I’m assuming they will pretty much sleep the whole way.

7. My Astronomy class is also coming to a close. It is interesting enough, but honestly, I’m having trouble enjoying it. It is Tuesday and Thursday evenings from 6:30 to 9:30 and those three hours drag. I just want to be finished. My heart’s not in it.

8. I got two free rhododendrons from a neighbour. They were really neglected and the person was just going to rip them out and toss them, so I transplanted them to my yard and have been coaxing them back to life. One is doing well, and is in fact, just starting to bloom. I don’t know if the little one will make it. Rhododendron is one of my favorite words.

9. I feel really shallow lately. No deep thoughts. No deep feelings – for good or for bad. I’m just floating through my life right now. I feel like I’m waiting for something, but I do not know what.

10. I have a feeling June is going to fly by. So much is changing for us this month. I will officially finish my degree. The kids will be out of school for the summer. We’re going on our first vacation. My husband and I are both changing jobs, which actually will create the most change of all. Our income is going to increase drastically, which will be weird. For so many years we’ve been struggling as student / parent / workers. This last year was the first that wasn’t actually that much of a struggle in terms of just getting by, but we weren’t exactly rolling in it either. I’m interested to see how much the removal of that particular stress impacts our lives. Another big change is that I will be a weekday worker for the first time since I’ve had kids. This will be an adjustment for us, especially during the summer holidays. I’ve never not been with the kids for their summer. That is not ideal, but it is okay. We’re working out the details of what the kids’ summer is going to look like. They will spend some time with family members and some time in day camps. How we’re going to handle after school care in the fall is still a big question mark. The bonus is that we will have evenings and weekends all together for the first time since 2005. And the REAL bonus is that my husband and I will both have Fridays off. Three day weekends – woot! He will be working four ten hour shifts (with an hour commute on each end – long days) and mine is Mon-Thurs 8:30 to 4:40. I see a lot of Friday-morning golf in our future. I’m looking forward to spending time with him. That is also something we have lacked. Big changes ahead. Good ones.

4 thoughts on “Just Do It

  1. I’m so excited that you’re the new church secretary! I think that you’re going to be great at it. I’m super jealous that you’re vacationing on the Oregon coast. That’s one of my fave vacation spots. Have a great time!!

  2. So much great news! YAY!!

    Re: Running – proud of you for sticking with it.

    And have fun on the Oregon coast. We’ll be there the third week of July and I CANNOT WAIT. 🙂

  3. Congratulations on the job! It sounds great!

    I can so relate to your exercise comments … I haven’t been for a run in weeks, and haven’t been to the gym for about 3 months. SIGH. I really have to get back into one or the other (probably the gym, as the weather here is getting wintery and not conducive to running outside).

    Have a WONDERFUL family vacation, I look forward to hearing all about it!

  4. Yipee! you finally blogged again. (Can’t tell I spend a lot of time in front of my computer ~ nursing). Sounds like some wonderful changes are taking place ~ excited for you all 🙂 have a wonderful holiday!

What say you?

