Beautiful Skin Secrets

When I was a teenager I was one of those girls with a flawless complexion. All of my friends who were undergoing the usual barrage of teenage-hormone related acne hated me for it. Of course the minute I turned 20 I started breaking out on a regular basis.

I’m 32 now and I still get the occasional breakout. I’m in the middle of one now, in fact. Every time I have a breakout I wonder what caused it and I examine all I have been doing – eating habits, products I use, etcetera. With lots of trial and error over the last decade I have discovered the two – no, the three – most important factors that contribute to healthy, glowing skin.

1. Exercise! And the more sweat, the better. It is as if it opens everything up and cleans it all out.

2. Vitamins! If I get out of the habit of taking my vitamins before bed I notice several physical changes and one of them is that my skin usually goes to crap.

It doesn’t seem to matter too much what I eat or what products I use, but if I am being consistent with the two habits above, my skin stays pretty clear. And if I breakout, it usually serves as a reminder that I’ve gotten off track and need to get back on.

So those two tips are what I’ve found works well for me to keep the zits away. The third secret has more to so with skin tone and texture, and I’ll tell you about it tomorrow.

How about you? Any beauty secrets you want to share? Do you have glossy healthy hair? Pearly whites? Well maintained mani and pedis? What are your best tips?

6 thoughts on “Beautiful Skin Secrets

  1. Pingback: The Third Thing for Good Skin « The Open and Closed World

  2. Water is amazing … and so good for your skin. Exercise is definitely up there. I don’t take vitamins, but I guess eating a well-balanced diet would have a similar effect? Not sure I always manage to do that, though! I’m good with veges but bad with fruit, so no doubt I’m lacking in some kind of vitamin.

  3. My skin secret is sunshine. I break out a lot less when I’m getting lots of sun. I drink SO much water but find that it has no effect on my skin’s condition at all.

What say you?

