Feeling Pretty. And Fat.

Last week I was sitting around at home working on those last papers and my hair was still a little damp from my morning shower and I had a great idea. Braids! Waves!

I used to do my hair like that all the time when I was a kid. Not so much anymore – I don’t have that much time to sit around. Well, I didn’t. But now I do!

It was fun. I felt pretty. I got compliments.

Ahhhh. It was so nice to take a breather today. It was the first day since I’ve been ‘done’ that I didn’t have work or general mayhem to attend to.

I visited with a friend, baked, completely overhauled my youngest daughter’s bedroom, hosted a kids after school Bible study (every Monday – so much fun!).

Oh, oh, oh. And I started C25K! Day one, week one. Success.

I’ve been feeling a little fat. I eat when I write papers. And it’s been four months of non stop papers. I made a pretty good effort to continue visiting the gym in the first half of the semester but pretty much fell off the wagon after midterms. It was hovering in the back of my mind. You’re going to regret this. I said to myself every time I skipped. And fast forward. Here we are. Regrets-ville.

We hauled out the summer clothes two weeks ago and I’ve noticed that things are a little – okay, a lot – tighter than they were last year. Uh oh.

So, I’ve been thinking the last few days that I should probably hunker down and focus on losing a little weight. I felt reluctant because I’ve been so full-on striving, pursuing goals and being disciplined (in other areas) that now that the insanity has ended, I kind of want to just take a break, and have no goals. And pursue nothing.

But. It’ll be good for me. I have all this time. I should probably do the work to re-set some healthy habits and priorities.

So, I began C25K today. I started it once before and fizzled out. I know several people who have completed it and are runners now. So proud of them.

Also, I would like to return to the routine I had this time last year of Monday – Friday trips to the gym focusing on a different muscle group each time. It was awesome. I felt so strong! I want to be there again.

Oh, and as soon scuba is over in May, dragon-boating begins. It’ll be my third year paddling. I can’t wait.

And I have a few eating strategies as well. Cough *drink less booze* cough. I have always been a pretty healthy eater and I love to cook. The problem is that I eat all the bad stuff on top of the healthy stuff. So I’ll need to address that.

I’ll keep you updated as I go. You guys have to keep me accountable.

7 thoughts on “Feeling Pretty. And Fat.

  1. Your hair looks so pretty! Love it. When I was a kid I used to get mum to braid my wet hair on Saturday nights so it would look nice for church 🙂
    Good on you for having another crack at C25K. I can only say good things about that programme. It’s amazing. You do have to really stick at it though, I was pretty religious about going every second day, and once I got into the habit, it wasn’t a problem. And it is definitely much easier to keep the diet healthy when you’re doing all that exercise … you don’t want to undo your hard work! Keep us posted, I’ll be cheering you on!

    • You and Angella have been my main inspirations – though I know lots of people who have done it. I’m feeling optimistic about the program this time around.

  2. I LOVE those waves. I should do Emily’s hair.

    C25K is what got me going, too, and it’s great. Running is such a great workout. And so are trips to the gym – that’s why I do boot camp. I get to work different muscles.

    I hear you on the eating thing. I used to be so diligent all the time, but I’ve fallen of the wagon a few times. I pulled up my boot straps a few months ago and feel so much better.

    🙂

  3. I love your hair like that!
    I hear you on the summer clothes being tight. I forgot that I bought new shorts last year right when I was really sick for 3 months and had dropped a bunch of weight. They don’t fit so well now. Ugh.

  4. Lovely, long hair!! Why is it so hard to stay disciplined and so easy to fall of the wagon?! I did the 13 week 10K run/walk program a few years ago and felt so GREAT! Now, I think the C25K would be more realistic. Knowing you, you will hop back on the wagon and meet your goals. You have a whole summer ahead of you! 🙂

What say you?

