The Home Stretch

Classes are over. I am so very happy about that, because even though my brain does not feel as tired and panicked as it did at mid-term time, it does feel like it is ready for a break.

The Easter long weekend was lovely. I’m at school during the weekdays and I work evenings and weekends, so I don’t usually get a break. But on the Easter weekend I got all my work done on Friday, allowing me to take Saturday with my family. We lounged around in the morning and drove to Kelowna for a wedding in the afternoon and simply enjoyed one another’s company. We bought a trampoline! And my husband got started on fixing our front dirt heap yard! Sunday was a busy but fun family day. We did the easter-egg hunt, went to church to Celebrate!!! and drove across town to visit my Nana and my Dad. But again, I purposely put the books aside and avoided work at all costs. Monday was a return to the crazy with grocery shopping, janitorial work, homework, and hosting a family dinner to celebrate Easter and my father-in-law’s birthday. It was a joyful day, and it felt good to be productive and happy after a nice relaxing weekend.

After that, it was really hard to go back for the final four days of classes. Well, three, technically, since I don’t have classes on Thursdays. My brain felt like Easter was the ending point. I went to class, but I was certainly not focused. I just felt so laid back. Despite feeling laid back however, these last few days have been some of the most productive in my entire university career. No procrastinating! Maybe I feel a bit of resignation I’ve done better in my studies overall that I was ever expecting to, and even though I still have a few final assignments to wrap up I have a sense that I will probably do well, and that even if I don’t, it probably won’t matter in the grand scheme anyway. Finally. The pressure is off.

Well, not completely off. I still have these last papers to write. The kids are home from school today (three short weeks in a row!). I usually love having them around to spend some extra time, but I have found it frustrating today. I didn’t realize until last night that the kids had the day off, so I had been planning to have the day to focus. The kids are being really good, but they still are loud, and have questions (they miss their mother!) and want to visit, and need feeding and so on. I’m not able to focus as much as I was counting on. My husband has a commitment tonight so I can’t take off and go somewhere later either.

I have to submit three papers this week – two on Wednesday and one on Thursday. I finished one last night. The other two are each double the size of the essays that I usually write and they are feeling a little daunting to me. Especially because they are worth 40% each for their respective courses. Even though I have good marks so far, these could really make or break my semester. I made outlines for both this morning, and then started writing the easier of the two. I am making decent progress, despite all the distractions. I feel like I’m going to be okay to meet my deadlines. I just hope I do a good job.

The one I finished last night was my final paper for my Philosophy of Science class. It was about the Underdetermination theory of Quine and Duhem who suggest that the process of falsification is not as cut and dried as we like to think, and that, consequently, theory choice in the sciences is less of a rational process than we assume. That was an interesting paper to write. I quite like it.

The one I’m working on today is an in-depth analysis of Plato’s conception of soul. It is the easiest to write because I have done the most work ahead of time. It is my only paper for the course. This was my directed studies course, that I did on my own. I covered five of Plato’s major works, including one that people don’t really read anymore but that was one of his most influential books during the middle ages. Every week I had to give an hour-long presentation to my prof on what I learned that week. It was pretty intense. I knew all along that I was going to have one big paper at the end and had to keep in mind what would be a good topic. Around mid-term time we were talking about some of the problems with Plato’s soul. It is complicated. So we discussed the possibility of this being a good topic to write on. I wasn’t sure. I thought it might be a tad too complicated. But, now that I have 42 pages of my own typed notes (yes, I counted) complete with references (easy to find now – yay for being organized!) and a pretty clear picture in my head of what Plato conceptualized, I’m finding that now the writing is a breeze. I already have all of the information in my brain. I just have to get it out. I’m doing it first, even though it is the last one due, just to get it out of the way.

The really difficult one, and the one that will probably have me pulling an all-nighter tomorrow, is for Metaphysics. Again, I had to choose my own topic, and again it is twice the length as a standard essay, and again it is worth 40%. I wound up choosing a similar topic to write on as the one I chose for my Plato course. I’ve done all the readings and have an outline, but I feel far less confident about what I’m going to be saying. I do not have a clear thesis. It will be one of those things that I figure out as I go along. I will basically be contrasting the rational soul, or separate intellect of Aristotle (and Plato, and Spinoza and others) to the existential living being of Fondane (and Kierkegaard and Shestov and Deluze and others). Yeah. Don’t even know what I’m going to say. I have a general grasp – but enough to write a detailed paper? We shall see…

My Ethics course is already completely done. I submitted my last paper (my Walking Dead analysis) on Friday. Woot! Feels like an A.

And after this week’s papers I have one more easy English paper for Children’s Lit – I’m going to write on the plot motif of treasure! That’ll be a nice low-key switch. And one last exam, also for Children’s Lit, on the 24th and I’m DONE.

Woo-hoo!

2 thoughts on “The Home Stretch

  1. Yay, the home stretch! That’s awesome, I am so happy for you. It must feel so good to be almost DONE! Good luck with the last 3 papers, I know you’ll rock them.

What say you?

