Q and A

Taken from Hannah’s blog.

Which is worse, failing or never trying? Definitely never trying. But, now that I’ve been trying new things regularly and accumulating a pretty decent success rate, I am beginning to detect a certain crazy fear of failing that drives me towards (but not quite to) perfectionism. It’s a madness!

When it’s all said and done, will you have said more than you’ve done? For sure.

What is the one thing you’d most like to change about the world? I’d usher in the second coming.

Are you more worried about doing things right, or doing the right things? Doing the right things.

Would you break the law to save a loved one? Absolutely. Echoing Jesus words: men were not made for the sabbath, the sabbath was made for men; I would say: women were not made for the law, but the law was made for women.

Have you ever seen insanity where you later saw creativity? That’s the way it usually goes.

What’s something you know you do differently than most people? Think.

What one thing have you not done that you really want to do? Write a book. Like, a whole one. I’ve got lots of pieces.

Are you holding onto something you need to let go of? Sigh. Probably. I fight hard to keep hold of my independence even though God keeps telling me to loosen my grip. It’s so hard.

If you had to move to a country besides the one you currently live in, where would you move and why? Well that’s an interesting question. Right now it’s looking like pretty much anywhere but Europe. Which is weird because I’d love to visit Europe.

Do you push the elevator button more than once? No. But I do press the crosswalk button several times. Every time I do it, I think it’s silly but I do it anyhow.

Which is worse, when a good friend moves away, or losing touch with a good friend who lives right near you? When a good friend moves away and you still love them with all your heart and feel deeply interested in their life, but they seem to have easily forgotten you. That happened to me. It hurts, man.

Would you rather lose all of your old memories, or never be able to make new ones? I think I’d rather lose the old ones. Life seems to get better all the time.

Has your greatest fear ever come true? You know, a couple of my biggest fears have come true and I survived. It was kind of freeing. It’s easier to shirk fear now.

Do you remember that time 5 years ago when you were extremely upset? Yes. Does it really matter now? A little bit … (This was Hannah’s answer and I’m leaving it because I feel the same way. Which is funny because I think it’s the opposite of the point the question is trying to make.)

Have you ever been with someone, said nothing, and walked away feeling like you just had the best conversation ever? Yes. And it’s usually a humorous one.

If you just won a million dollars, would you quit your job? Yes I would. Because janitorial work sucks. But then I would use the time to write that book, and I’d probably get my master’s degree or write another book after that. So i wouldn’t stop ‘working.’

Would you be willing to reduce your life expectancy by 10 years to become extremely attractive or famous? No way Hose. Unless I had the foreknowledge that I was facing 10 or more years of Alzheimer’s or something terrible. Then, yes, I would.

What would you do differently if you knew nobody would judge you? Quit my job and live in a cabin far away from everything and write that book. (Am I detecting a theme?)

In 5 years from now, will you remember what you did yesterday? Yesterday was the kind of day not worth remembering. So, no.

3 thoughts on “Q and A

  1. Thanks for stealing this and answering the questions – I loved reading your answers, and seeing how similar we were with a lot of them! Especially that one about remembering when you were upset 5 years ago. I hesitated to answer it the way I did, because I knew the point was that we usually DON’T remember those times, so put things in perspective/look at the big picture/etc. But I’m glad I was honest, and I thank you for being honest too! The point I wanted to make with my answer is that people really CAN hurt others with their words and actions, and it doesn’t always just “go away” with time. The hurt can be there forever. So it is important to guard our tongues.

What say you?

