Oatmeal Fudge Bars

Here is the recipe for the oatmeal fudge bars I made yesterday that are just like the ones you can buy at a particular coffee joint.

I didn’t follow the recipe exactly, so I will put my modifications in brackets. My version is fantastic. I haven’t actually tried the original.

Pan: This recipe calls for a 9x 13 pan. I used my larger, 11×15 I think, Pampered Chef stoneware bar pan so the dough was spread thinner, but I found the thinner bar to be the perfect proportion, so if you have one, I would use it. These bars are pretty rich. And, using a bigger pan makes more bars!

1 cup brown sugar and 1 cup of white sugar (I used 2 cups brown, no white.)
1 cup butter, room temp
2 eggs
0 vanilla (I used 1 tsp)
2 cups flour (I used 1 cup of white flour and 1 1/2 cups whole grain wheat flour)
1 tsp baking soda
1 tsp salt (I found them a little salty, but still good. My husband likes the salt. You might want to reduce or omit.)
3 cups oatmeal

FILLING:

6oz chocolate chips (I used 2 cups)
1 can sweetened condensed milk
1/2 cup butter (I used about 1 1/2 tbsp)
1 tsp vanilla
1 cup chopped walnuts (I omitted)

Cream together butter, sugars, eggs, and vanilla. In a seperate bowl, mix together flours, soda, salt and oatmeal. Add to cream mixture and mix well. Press 2/3 of dough into the bottom of pan.

In a microwave or on stovetop, melt together the filling ingredients. Spread on top of dough. Drop remaining 1/3 of dough by tablespoon randomly over the filling. Bake at 350 for 30 minutes. Do not overbake. *I baked them for about 23 minutes in my stoneware.

3 thoughts on “Oatmeal Fudge Bars

What say you?

