The Ten Best Books of 2011

Well, I did it again. I read 50 books this year. Just like 2010. And it wasn’t even a goal. That just must be my pace. Earlier this week as I made an entry for ‘the Shack’ in my book journal (my dorkiness knows no bounds) I decided to go back though and count how many I had read this year. The Shack turned out to be #49. I rounded out the year with an amnesia thriller ‘Before I Go To Sleep.’

Here is my ten best list, pulled from the 50. They’re listed in the order I read them.

1. Same Kind of Different as Me by Ron Hall and Denver Moore.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2. The Wars by Timothy Findley.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

3. Bird by Bird by Anne Lamott.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

4. Ender’s Shadow by Orson Scott Card.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

5. The Help by Kathryn Stockett.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

6. The Bible Jesus Read by Philip Yancey.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

7. Imagining Argentina by Lawrence Thornton.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

8. Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close by Jonathan Safran Foer.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

9. Room by Emma Donoghue.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

10. The Shack by William P. Young.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I’d like to say something about The Shack. I’m sure you’ve heard a lot of hype. I did. And yet, I just kept putting it off until someone put it in my hand.

It surpassed all the hype.

And here are some honorable mentions. The only reason why these aren’t on the list is because I really felt I should stop at 10.

  • The End of Reason by Ravi Zacharias.
  • Before I go to Sleep by S.J. Watson.
  • The Forgotten Garden by Kate Morton.
  • Men in Prison by Victor Serge.
  • Scared by Tom Davis.
  • Priceless by Tom Davis.
  • The Seven Basic Plots by Christopher Booker.
  • The Republic of Love by Carol Shields.

And. If you care. The entire list of the 50 books I read this year:

  1. Common Magic by Bronwen Wallace.
  2. People You’d Trust Your Life To by Bronwen Wallace.
  3. Being and Nothingness by Jean Paul Sartre.
  4. Seed Catalogue by Robert Kroetsch.
  5. The Wars by Timothy Findley.
  6. Shoot! by George Bowering.
  7. Same Kind of Different as Me by Ron Hall and Denver Moore.
  8. The Rez Sisters by Tomson Highway.
  9. Sarah’s Key by Tatiana de Rosnay.
  10. Permission to Speak Freely by Anne Jackson.
  11. Gods and Kings by Lynn Austin.
  12. Traveling Light by Max Lucado.
  13. A Watershed Year by Susan Schoenberger.
  14. Radical by David Platt.
  15. Radical Together by David Platt.
  16. The Mailbox by Marybeth Whalen.
  17. Bird by Bird by Anne Lamott.
  18. On a Pale Horse by Piers Anthony.
  19. The White Queen by Philippa Gregory.
  20. The Republic of Love by Carol Shields.
  21. Scared by Tom Davis.
  22. Fields of Gold by Andy Stanley.
  23. The Seven Basic Plots by Christopher Booker.
  24. Unashamed by Francine Rivers.
  25. Ender’s Shadow by Orson Scott Card.
  26. The Help by Katheryn Stockett.
  27. The Forgotten Garden by Kate Morton.
  28. The Bible Jesus Read by Philip Yancey.
  29. The Eighth Shepherd by Bodie and Brock Theone.
  30. Almost Heaven by Chris Fabray.
  31. The End of Reason by Ravi Zacharias.
  32. The Weight of Silence by
  33. Imagining Argentina by Lawrence Thornton.
  34. An Essay Concerning Human Understanding by John Locke.
  35. The Canterbury Tales by Chaucer.
  36. Twelfth Night by Shakespeare.
  37. Beowulf.
  38. A Treatise Concerning the Principles of Human Knowledge by George Berkeley.
  39. A Treatise of Human Nature by David Hume.
  40. Sentences and Paroles, a Prison Reader by PJ Murphy.
  41. Paroled for Life by PJ Murphy
  42. Metamorphosis, the Penal Colony and other stories by Franz Kafka.
  43. The Lost Ones by Samuel Beckett.
  44. Men in Prison by Victor Serge.
  45. Kolyma Tales by Varlam Shalamov
  46. By the River Piedra, I Sat Down and Wept by Paulo Coelho.
  47. Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close by Jonathan Safran Foer.
  48. Room by Emma Donoghue.
  49. The Shack by William P. Young.
  50. Before I go to Sleep by S.J. Watson.

Most of these were pretty good, to tell you the truth. I could count on one hand the titles I didn’t really care for. I didn’t include any of the textbooks in my top ten list simply because the purpose of the list is to make recommendations to you, and these books aren’t for everyone. But they were still great.

Happy Reading in 2012!

4 thoughts on “The Ten Best Books of 2011

  1. Did you like Room? And PS. I love Anne Lamott – she’s wonderful. I still have bird by bird crinkled up near my bed, maybe I’ll read it again this year. 🙂

What say you?

